[replies] ella

For our Tuesday update, we’re featuring responses from artist extraordinaire Ella Lama, whose excitement about possibilities is infectious, and whose artworks are sure to put a big smile on anyone’s face. =) 

What’s your name?

Ella Lama

Where on the Internet can we find you? (URL/Instagram/Twitter/Facebook) 

ellalama.com / IG: @ella_lama / facebook.com/EllaDoodles

What would you like to be known for?

For making people smile through my art

Something to look back on: What do you wish you could say to a younger self? If you knew then what you know now, what would you have done differently? Tell us more about this younger self, if you’d like.

When I was younger I didn’t have any real interests. Aside from occasional beach or Baguio trips, summer vacation would be spent at home watching TV or playing with neighbors. When I started getting into art a few years back I wished I had spent more time as a kid being curious and learning about art.

Something right now: What makes you glad to be alive right now? What gets you excited these days? What is it about these things that inspire you? Feel free to tell us more about the things that excite you.

I am glad to be alive right now mainly because it is easier to connect with people who have the same interests. I am eternally grateful for finding art friends over the internet and in events because I learn a lot from them and they inspire me everyday.

It may sound like a cliché, but I am excited about possibilities! The direction I’ll take in my art journey, new products I’ll design and make, new friends to meet, new things to experience. A friend once told me that I seemed to be scared of everything, but I think everyday I am growing more curious to explore what is beyond my comfort zone.

Something to pass on: What piece of advice/words of wisdom have stuck with you all this time which you would like to pass on? Why are they memorable? Feel free to expound, if you like.

When I was a freshman in high school, I was part of the Math Club. One of my teachers told me that maybe I should try joining the Art Club on my second year. Her concern was I wouldn’t get enough extra curricular activity points by staying in the Math Club, but by following her advice, I discovered how much I enjoyed making with my hands.

So do not be afraid to try new things! If it turns out to be a good experience, you just might learn something new about yourself. If it turns out bad, at least you have a story to tell.

Thank you Ella for sharing your thoughts with us! =) And to you, dear reader, thanks for reading!

We’d like to hear from you (and your friends!) — head on over and answer our Google Form at http://tinyurl.com/fromher2her  

Leave a Reply

